How to delete followers on Twitter

If you don’t use a private account on Twitter, scammers and annoying people will point to your DMs and comments. Sometimes the person is not annoying, but your tweets may offend them. Using Twitter Circles is a good option, but what if you just want to limit that one or two accounts? It is then a better option to remove them from the list of followers. Everything is on here how to delete followers on twitter.

While searching, you may have seen old methods and new methods to remove followers on Google. Twitter didn’t update this feature until 2021. Removing a follower from Twitter was a guilt trip at the time. When you unfollow a follower on Twitter using the old method, they’ll be notified that you’ve blocked them while checking your profile – but no more with the latest update.

Enough with the crazies now. Here’s everything you need to know about deleting followers on Twitter. Twitter has been introducing cool features lately and now you can delete an annoying person without letting them know. Scroll down to learn more about eliminating followers on Twitter.

How to delete followers on Twitter?

one person kicks another;  how to delete followers on twitter

I will not judge your decision to remove followers on Twitter when most accounts are scammers or bots. If you were using a private account, you would have options to accept or decline suggestions from followers. Since you have a private account, you will have a huge list of followers to delete, I am sure.

Also read How to read comments on Twitter | Don’t press the comment icon!

You can block spammers and annoying people, but what if the person is important and you don’t want to make them feel bad? I’ve got everything covered. Let’s see how removing followers on Twitter worked in the past,

How to delete followers on Twitter | Old method to delete followers on Twitter

Before the 2021 update, you had to block someone to remove them as a follower. He will not be notified unless he tries to visit your profile. I’m sure scammers aren’t that interested in you, but what about the good ones? They may take a taste of you and imagine how much grief it must have brought them. You can still block spammers and annoying people; here’s how.

1. Go to “Twitter.”

2. Choose the ‘profile’ you want to block.

3. Click on the ‘Three points’ top right of their profile.

to block;  how to delete followers on twitter

4. Select ‘Block.’

to block;  how to delete followers on twitter

5. Confirm ‘Block’ in the pop-up window.

to block;  how to delete followers on twitter

That is it; you blocked them. Let’s talk about heartbreaking people and how Twitter solved the problem with the latest update.

Also read How to Change Twitter Display Name | Try the new Twitter handle on mobile and desktop

How To Remove Followers On Twitter By Soft Block?

The soft block was a famous exercise done in the past. With this method, you remove a follower by blocking them, but they won’t see the blocked message when searching your profile. It is a method of blocking and unblocking. Remember that soft block only removes the user from the list of followers; he may still follow you or stalk your profile. Here’s How To Soft Block Someone On Twitter,

1. Go to “Twitter.”

2. Choose the ‘profile’ you want to block.

3. Click on the ‘Three points’ top right of their profile.

4. Select ‘Block.’

remove a follower;  How to delete followers on Twitter

5. Confirm ‘Block’ in the pop-up window.

6. Hover over the ‘Blocked’ icon, it will be displayed as: “Unblock.”

to block;  how to delete followers on twitter

7. Tap “Unblock.”

to block;  how to delete followers on twitter

Now you have soft-blocked the person on Twitter. He no longer follows you and he will not be notified of this activity.

Also read How to find your most liked tweet on Twitter | Know your popularity!

How to remove followers on Twitter in 2022?

With the 2021 update, Twitter introduced a ‘Delete this follower’ option. He will be removed from your followers list and will only get to know you if he stalks your profile. Even though he doesn’t know that he will be removed from the followers list unless he specifically checks it. Here’s how to delete followers on Twitter with the new update,

1. Go to “Twitter.”

2. Find the ‘Account’ from your followers list.

3. Click on the horizontal ‘Three points’ right to their profile.

4. Choose “Delete this follower.”

remove a follower;  How to delete followers on Twitter

Mission accomplished. Now you have successfully removed them from your followers list.

Also read How to Send Private Tweets | How the new Twitter Circle feature works!

Why would you delete a follower on Twitter?

You may have a million reasons to remove someone from following you. I’ve tried to shortlist some of the most popular reasons why someone gets removed from a followers list. Here it is,

  1. Users will block or delete spam or bot accounts.
  2. If an account is annoying in DMs or comments, the user will likely delete or block it.
  3. If the user is afraid that his friends or family are judging their online activities, he will remove them from the list of followers.
  4. If the user thinks that his ideologies are different from those of a person on his followers’ list, most likely they will delete them to avoid offending them with tweets.

How to delete followers on Twitter on mobile?

You can remove followers on Twitter by blocking them. The Twitter mobile application does not have the ‘Delete this follower’ function not yet. Here’s how to remove Twitter followers on mobile by blocking them.

1. Go to “Twitter.”

2. Choose the ‘profile’ you want to block.

3. Click on the ‘Three points’ top right of their profile.

4. Select ‘Block.’

remove a follower;  How to delete followers on Twitter

5. Confirm ‘Block’ in the pop-up window.

remove a follower;  How to delete followers on Twitter

Log in to Twitter using the browser on your mobile to use the ‘Remove this Follower’ feature on your mobile.

Also read How To Delete Twitter Account | Deactivate and permanently delete Twitter

Shut down

Some people can always be annoying. When the annoying is on a public platform, it’s embarrassing. Here I have discussed everything about removing followers on Twitter. Above all, I also briefed soft blocks and old methods. I hope you now have a list of people you want to block. Let me know in the comment how this was helpful.

Until then, Toodaloo!

Frequently Asked Questions

1. How can I delete all my followers on Twitter at once?

You cannot delete all followers on Twitter at once. However, many third-party applications can help you. If you’ve had enough of your entire Twitter account, I suggest you delete the account and start a new one.

2. Will the person be notified if I’ve blocked them on Twitter?

New. The person will not be notified of being blocked unless they visit your profile. There will be a message that he has been blocked on your profile.

3. How do you make a Twitter account private?

Log in to your Twitter Account > Settings & Help > Settings > Privacy & Security > Protect My Tweets > Save Changes.

Leave a Comment